Sian Alice Group to release debut long player 59.59

The Social Registry is pleased to announce the debut full-length album from London-based band, Sian Alice Group. The album, 59.59 is set for a Feb 19, 2008 release. The band is already on the rise in its native England having opened a string of shows for Spiritualized and received a flurry of attention in the press. At the core of Sian Alice Group are multi-instrumentalists Rupert Clervaux and Ben Crook who formed the band along with vocalist Sian Ahern in late 2006. In order to flesh out their sound they bought in Sasha Vine and for live shows have added Douglas Hart (Jesus & Mary Chain) and John Webster Johns.

59.59 was recorded and produced predominantly during the summer of 2007 by Clervaux at Sian Alice Group’s central London studio where the group are able to enjoy complete self-sufficiency, enabling full flexibility in their creative process. As a testament to the open and collaborative nature of Sian Alice Group, the group welcomed other musicians in to the studio and, for the album closer ‘Complete Affection,’ were joined by John Coxon (Spiritualized, Spring Heel Jack) on guitar and Brian DeGraw (Gang Gang Dance) on lead piano.As work began on London-based Sian Alice Group’s debut full length 59.59, it became clear early on that it would not simply be a collection of songs. The music which they have brought to bare is a much more fully realized experience that moves through traditional pop songwriting and dynamic instrumental composition while tempering it with studio improvisation. The title of the record comes from its running time and, as this suggests, 59.59 manipulates elements of texture, pacing and timbre as if it’s one sweeping composition.

Be Sociable, Share!
Bookmark the permalink.
  • Archives

  • Bogs et Cogs