Shelby Lynne:: Just A Little Lovin’

Shelby Lynne’s Just A Little Lovin’, is a collection of songs inspired by Dusty Springfield. Coming so close to the release of another covers record – – Cat Power’s very inspired Jukebox, I am compelled to compare the two. While Chan Marshall tamed the tracks on her record by giving them her own transfer of spirit, Shelby Lynne chooses a fairly straight forward reading. No doubt, both artists show reverence to the known and lesser known classics they have chosen; Lynne makes her approach as if she is borrowing these songs, unlike Marshall who in magnificent fashion takes full possession. This is no slam against Lynne who with Just A Little Lovin’, creates a perfect warm and laid back vibe with her own fairly subdued, but deeply invested renditions. The band is very cozy and provides some spare arrangements that follow Shelby’s movements as if they were part of her on such hits as “Just A Little Lovin’,” “Anyone Who Had A Heart,” “The Look Of Love,” and so many more. This is a perfect Saturday evening record, especially if you had a thought provoking previous night and you’re content to relish in those feelings and allow them to congeal. Otherwise, throw it on Sunday morning after a bland weekend, knowing there is better life out there.

Just A Little Lovin’ Track Listing
1. Just A Little Lovin’
2. Anyone Who Had A Heart
3. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
4. I Only Want To Be With You
5. The Look Of Love
6. Breakfast In Bed
7. Willie And Laura Mae Jones
8. I Don’t Want To Hear It Anymore
9. Pretend (Written by Shelby Lynne)
10. How Can I Be Sure

Just A Little Lovin- wm

Anyone Who Had A Heart

I Only Want To Be With You

Be Sociable, Share!
Bookmark the permalink.
  • Archives

  • Bogs et Cogs