Super Furry Animals incognito on new record

Rough Trade Records have announced that Super Furry Animals are currently working on their 9th studio album in Cardiff, and follow up to 2007’s Hey Venus. The band have been busy with their various side projects including Daf and Guto’s work as part of The Peth with Rhys Ifans, Cian’s forthcoming Acid Casuals release, Som Bom techno nights in London and Gruff’s work with Neon Neon. Currently with a tracklisting but without a title the band promise: “Musically it’s based around riffs and grooves we’ve been playing around with over the last few years. We have enough now for a whole album so even though it’s still very melodic we thought we could leave off the acoustic ballads for the time being.” “It’s recognisable as a melodic SFA record, but is very focused musically as a cohesive album. And no country rock as Daf has developed a pedal steel phobia. Which has confined the great Nashvillian instrument along with the Saxophone to the banned instrument directive of the SFA board. there’s only one slow number which isn’t slow at all.” Longtime cohorts Pete Fowler will combine with legendary Japanese artist Tanaami for the album artwork. The album is due for digital release on the 16th March via the bands own website (, the physical following on the 21st of April on Rough Trade Records.

working tracklisting:
1.’The very best of Neil Diamond’
2. White socks/Flip Flops.
3. Inaugural Trams.
4. Sounds Familiar.
5. Cardiff in the sun.
6. Where do you wanna go?
7. LLiwiau LLachar.
8. Mountain.
9. Moped eyes.
10. Inconvenience.
11. Crazy Naked Girls.
12. Earth.
13. Prick.

Golden Retriever

Ymaelodi A’r Ymylon (Later)

Be Sociable, Share!
Bookmark the permalink.
  • Archives

  • Bogs et Cogs