Camera Obscura work up My Maudlin Career

Glasgow’s Camera Obscura will release their new album, My Maudlin Career, on April 21st. Their last album, Let’s Get Out Of This Country, saw the band reaching new heights, selling out shows at renowned venues such as the Cat’s Cradle. Nearly three years on from that release, Camera Obscura’s follow-up, My Maudlin Career, is their first for their new label (4AD) and fourth overall. For the new record they returned to Sweden to work with Swedish producer Jari Haapalainen (Ed Harcourt, Peter, Bjorn & John, The Concretes). Speaking for the first time about My Maudlin Career, lead singer Tracyanne Campbell commented, “Some people who have heard it say it’s intense and quite dark. I suppose it is in a way. We were even more open and brave when making it than we were with the last record. I’ve never been so brutal when its come to writing lyrics. I wouldn’t even call them lyrics. Just documentation of what was going on with me for a while. I truly believe it’s the best we’ve done so far.” Prior to releasing the album, the single, ‘French Navy’, will be out a week before the album on April 13th. Until then you can listen to the title track below.

My Maudlin Career
My Maudlin Career tracklisting:
1. French Navy
2. The Sweetest Thing
3. You Told A Lie
4. Away With Murder
5. Swans
6. James
7. Careless Love
8. My Maudlin Career
9. Forest And Sands
10. Other Towns And Cities
11. Honey In The Sun

March 16 London, The Lexington
March 18 Austin, SXSW
March 24 New York, The Bell House
April 23 London, Shepherd’s Bush Empire
April 26 Glasgow, Barrowlands Ballroom

Lloyd I’m Ready To Be Heartbroken

Tears for Affairs

Be Sociable, Share!
Bookmark the permalink.
  • Archives

  • Bogs et Cogs