British Sea Power score Man of Aran

British Sea Power have written and recorded a new soundtrack for the 1934 film Man Of Aran. The film is being re-released on DVD with the new BSP soundtrack – a release preceded by the band performing the soundtrack live to the film at BFI Southbank last week. The BSP Man Of Aran package includes two discs – the re-scored Man Of Aran DVD, plus the soundtrack by itself on CD. British Sea Power’s all-new score to the 1934 film will be available on DVD/CD from 18 May.

Man Of Aran is a documentary from the late American filmmaker Robert J Flaherty. In a series of black-and-white sequences the film presents daily life on the inhospitable Aran islands on the west coast of Ireland. The film was created from half a million feet of film shot by Flaherty while living closely with the islanders. The ‘family’ at the centre of the film weren’t related, rather a group of islanders cast as the family unit by Flaherty. The fishing expedition for basking sharks which forms the film’s dramatic center was based around methods that hadn’t been employed on the Aran Islands for decades. The film won the Grand Prix at the 1935 Venice Film Festival and the film critic Pauline Kael described it as, “The greatest film tribute to man’s struggle against a hostile nature.” The track “Come Wander With Me” is available below. The band will reprise their Man Of Aran performance at The Big Chill Festival on 6th August.

audio:
Come Wander With Me

video:
Man of Aran

Man of Aran (performance)

dates:
Fri 15 May – Brighton Sallis Benny Theatre (Great Escape festival)
Sat 16 May – Brighton Digital (Great Escape festival)
Sun 21 June – High Rocks, Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Sat 27 June – Glastonbury Festival, Avalon Stage
Sun 05 July – Hop Farm Festival, Paddock Wood, Kent
Fri 17 July – Colchester Arts Centre
Sat 18 July – Two Thousand Trees Festival, Cheltenham
Sat 25 July – Indie Guitar Festival, Ascott Under Wychwood, Oxfordshire
Thu 6 Aug – Big Chill festival, Herefordshire (Man of Aran performance)
Fri 7 Aug – Morecambe Library, Morecambe
Sat 8 Aug – Belladrum festival, near Inverness
Sun 16 Aug – Open Air Theatre, Regent’s Park, London
Fri 21 Aug – Green Man Festival, Crickhowell, South Wales
Sat 22 Aug – V Festival, Stafford (Union Stage)
Sun 23 Aug 2009 – V Festival, Chelmsford (Union Stage)

http://www.myspace.com/britishseapower
http://www.britishseapower.co.uk/

Be Sociable, Share!
Bookmark the permalink.
  • Archives

  • Bogs et Cogs