El Perro Del Mar prepares Love Is Not Pop

el Sweden-based El Perro Del Mar, also known as Sarah Assbring, is set to release her third full-length album Love Is Not Pop (The Control Group) on October 20, 2009. Following the album release, El Perro Del Mar will be supporting Peter Bjorn and John on their North American tour in November.

El Perro Del Mar on Love Is Not Pop:

Shortly after having finished touring with my second album ‘From the Valley to the Stars’ I started writing new songs. For some reason all the songs were about love and in particular that of the doomed kind. Unconsciously I think I knew what I was trying to tell myself. I’d spent some bad times in New York and some good times in Paris and both these cities have made a great imprint on this album and my current outlook on love. I’ve decided to call it ‘Love Is Not Pop’ – the songs on the album are all pop songs and they are all about love. But naturally, it is not all as simple as that. As much as pop can be love and vice versa – I’d like to believe that love goes so much deeper than a pop song. The title is of course also a play with words as well as a play with my persona up until this point. This album is also very much a way for me to look further into ways of writing and expressing myself – it definitely is a conscious step away from what I did on my last album. The mindset is darker and the soundscape mysteriously groovy thus it is not by chance I’ve chosen to work together with Rasmus Hägg, the other half of the acclaimed Swedish duo Studio, as a co-producer. His input and source of inspiration has been no other than apure revelation to me. Working so closely together with someone has been a new experience for me and I feel excited about having come to the point where I’ve been wanting to let someone into the very much abstract and intimate process of song writing. I’m glad it was Rasmus I let in.

– El Perro Del Mar/Sarah Assbring

track list:
1. Gotta Get Smart
2. Change Of Heart
3. L Is For Love
4. Let Me In
5. Heavenly Arms
6. It Is Something (To Have Wept)
7. A Better Love
Bonus tracks:
8. L Is For Love (Low Motion Disco’s additional love remix)
9. Change Of Heart (J Rintamäki remix)
10. Let Me In (Nhessingtons remix)


Be Sociable, Share!
Bookmark the permalink.
  • Archives

  • Bogs et Cogs