Temporary Residence to reissue Bitch Magnet

Temporary Residence Limited has announced that it will re-release the complete studio recordings from Bitch Magnet. Bitch Magnet’s original recorded lineup will also reunite to perform for the first time since 1989 at All Tomorrow’s Parties’ “Nightmare Before Christmas” festival on December 10, 2011.

On November 15, Temporary Residence will package Bitch Magnet’s three albums – Star Booty, Umber, and Ben Hur – as a deluxe, limited edition triple-LP set and as a triple CD. The reissues will also include songs that have never appeared on CD or LP, and a collection of previously unreleased studio recordings newly mixed in October 2010 with John Congleton (Explosions In The Sky, The Walkmen). The albums are remastered from the original analog master tapes.

Bitch Magnet was formed by bassist/vocalist Sooyoung Park and Fine at Oberlin College in 1986; drummer Orestes Morfin joined shortly thereafter.

“Probably more than any other band, Bitch Magnet sent me in the direction I took with the music I have tried to make,” said Battles’ Ian Williams, whose band’s invitation to play at All Tomorrow’s Parties coaxed Bitch Magnet out of retirement.

“Mesentery” (from the album Ben Hur)


Be Sociable, Share!
and tagged Bookmark the permalink.
  • Archives

  • Bogs et Cogs